Emily Clair Takes Heartbreak in Stride on Anthemic New Single “Kiss Strangers”

Post breakup healing doesn’t always need to be sad. Instead Emily Clair prefers her healing process to be one filled with empowerment and a more than a tinge of triumphant attitude, as evidenced by her latest single, Kiss Strangers. Kiss Strangers in an anthemic take on moving on, cutting against the grain and allowing listeners to see Clair’s authenticity shine through.

Recently, we had the chance to chat with Clair about her new single, musical journey, and more!

Worlds of Country: When did you know that music was something that you wanted to pursue?

Emily: I knew from a very young age that music was something I wanted to pursue. I started singing at the age of two, and was surrounded by a very musical and artistic family. I took over ten years of singing and piano lessons through my entire childhood, and took a break during college for an education. The moment I was graduated, I dove right back into music full force and never looked back.

Worlds of Country: Once you knew it was something that you could do seriously, what was your first step towards making this dream a reality?

Emily: Without a doubt, I always knew music was something that I was going to pursue seriously. It was a matter of when it would be the right time. I wrote my very first song in high-school after my first real heartbreak, and that was when I knew I was ready to work at making this dream of mine a reality, because I had things to say and stories to tell. I knew that I had the singing part down, but I was determined to become a writer as well because I knew it would add value to the music that I deliver. I’ve always known that it would be a long-haul, but I prepared myself for this journey at such a young age. I was taught that nothing is handed to you, and in order to succeed in this industry you must have consistency and drive.

Worlds of Country: How would you describe your musical style and who would you say most influenced this style?

Emily: I’d say that my musical style is country/soul with a modern feel. My musical influences are from a few different artist; Norah Jones, Christina Aguilera, Chris Stapleton, The Chicks and Fleetwood Mac. I grew up listening to so many different genres, but anyone with bold, strong and unique vocals always captured me.

Worlds of Country: What have been some of the biggest lessons you’ve learned throughout this journey?

Emily: Throughout this journey I’ve learned that everyone has their own path and own story to success. Good things take time, and that it’s important to look back at your milestones every once in a while and remember how far you’ve come.

Worlds of Country:What’s the story behind your new single, “Kiss Strangers”?

Emily: “Kiss Strangers” is about getting strong and moving on from heartbreak! It’s an empowerment song that I like to call every gal’s breakup anthem. I feel that a lot of breakup songs are sad, and cliche so, I figured country music could use one with a little more sass!

Worlds of Country: It seems to go against the grain of most breakup songs, was that sassy and triumphant vibe something you were aiming for?

Emily: My goal in my career is to go against the grain, be bold and stray away from what everyone else is doing in the mainstream country music scene. I like to make sure that my lyrics and ideas are fresh and interesting to draw in my listeners. I think that the title of this song alone screams sassy, and it’s exactly what I wanted to convey in the message of this song.

Worlds of Country:What’s next for you?

Emily: I’ll be writing and working towards a full length album called Stealing Hearts!

Leave a comment